CITY OF ALBUQUERQUE 2010 REDISTRICTING COMMITTEE

S U M M A R Y M I N U T E S A U G U S T 3, 2011

Voting Members Present:	District 1	Linda Lopez
	District 2	Bernadette Miera
	District 3	Phillip Baca
	District 4	Bob Gurule
	District 5	Sander Rue
	District 6	Michael Montoya
	District 7	Kathie Leyendecker
	District 8	Hal Stratton

Alternate Members Present: District 3 Claudia Isaac

District 5 Betty Valez
District 6 Sandra Ortsman
District 7 Wayne Johnson
District 8 Barbara Morgan
District 9 Bob Martinez

Others Present: Laura Mason, Director of Council Services

Jon Zaman, Council Staff Sandy Chavez, Council Staff

Michael Sharp, Research & Polling, Inc.

Call to Order and Approval of Agenda

The meeting of the Redistricting Committee was called to order at 6:05 p.m. by Chairman Arnold-Jones.

Chairman Arnold-Jones stated, since she is running for Congress, she asked Councilor Cook to replace her. She welcomed Kathie Leyendecker, whom Councilor Cook appointed as the new voting member in District 7.

In order to transition the Committee, Chairman Arnold-Jones stated that she would open the meeting and follow the agenda through the election of a new Chair and Vice Chair.

Chairman Arnold-Jones thanked the Committee and Council staff for their work on this very important project and wished everyone well.

With the addition of Public Comment, the agenda was accepted as presented.

Public Comment

Public comment was heard from Javier Benavides. As a resident of the Barelas Community he encouraged the Committee not to dilute the communities of interest, to amplify the voices of those who are too often under represented, and to create districts that enable our City Councilors to be effective in representing our neighborhoods and our economy.

Public comment was also heard from Sterling Fluharty who suggested that the maps being discussed should be available to the public prior to the meeting date in order to be reviewed.

Approval of Minutes of August 3, 2010 Meeting

The minutes of the August 3, 2011 meeting were accepted as presented.

Selection of Chair and Vice Chair

Bernadette Meira, made a motion to elect Michael Montoya as Chairman of the Redistricting Committee. The motion passed with a unanimous vote.

Sander Rue made a motion to elect Bob Gurule as Vice Chair, the motion with a unanimous vote.

Discussion of proposed maps

Michael Sharp, Vice President of Research and Polling presented detailed information for each of the six proposed maps labeled A-F, each was accompanied by a data table. He explained the guidelines of the redistricting process and stated that all nine districts must be modified to accommodate the twenty-two percent increase of population growth.

Discussion of upcoming meetings

The Committee reviewed the work to be done and agreed to meet in the Vincent E. Griego Chambers on August 11 and August 18, 2011. Community meetings will held August 25 at the West Mesa Community Center, September 1st, at Manzano Mesa, September 15, at Taylor Ranch Community Center, and September 22nd at the North Domingo Baca Community Center. The final meeting of the Redistricting Committee will take place in the Vincent E. Griego Chambers on Monday, September 26, 2011, with a tentative meeting scheduled for September 29th.

Other business

The next meeting of the Redistricting Committee will be Thursday, August 11, 2011 from 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. in the Vincent E. Griego Chambers.

Adjourn

There being no further business before the Committee, Mr. Stratton made a motion for adjournment. The meeting adjourned at 7:30 p.m.